Things I wish for.

dsc091141

Nadi turned 18 months old. A whole year and half. I still can’t get my head around th efact that I am an honest to goodness mom much less than my baby is now a toddler…who walks, kinda talks (ok, communicates!) and well…toddles all day long. There is so much I want for him that it overwhelms me. There is so much happening in the world that I want more and more for him….

– World peace. Pakistan peace. Of course I wish for you to grow up in a world feeling like it belongs to you- that you own it and are responsible for what happens to it.

– I wish you never get hurt. And since I know that is inevitable ons some level, I pray Allah Mian gives you strength- just enough to deal with what comes your way with grace and dignity and perseverance and faith. And to pick up and move on despite everything, without losing too much of the good in you.

– I wish you to grow up being polite saying please and thank you and opening car doors for ladies. No matter how fem-lib equal women get when you are older, Nadi, a man who holds the car door open is a man who gets the ladies.

– I wish you some kind of talent because when nothing is working out the way you want it to, its good to know that there is something you are great at. That gives you strength and confidence and the ability to realzie the worth in being different.

– I wish you are always happy. With what you get. With who you are. With what life is like. I want you to have everything of course, but failing that, I pray and wish you realize that each lot comes with its goods and bads.

– I wish you have a best friend who to have wonderful times with because I have realized life is very meaningless without friends to laugh uproariously with.

– I wish you are tolerant, accepting and generous with your views on people. I pray you realize the value of peace, of living in harmony and of sharing what we have with those who don’t have as much.

While making this list, I am once again gripped with a sense of panic at how very little control one really has. And how much faith- of whatever kind one needs these days to simply make it through sanely to the next day. The Mumbai terror rampage has happened, bringing back memories of last year the day BB died and how terrified we were, and how suddenly vulnerable and precious and fleeting it all seemed. Moments Of Clarity. I am saddened for the friends and family in Mumbai – and the places that are ravaged- because we also know what its like to be at the mercy of these people whose agenda is so alien to those of us who just want a normal life. To ask for happiness at a time when sanity is most needed seems like such a luxury right now- may God give us the strength to deal with what we get and fix this mess that is being created. Foo the candle Nadi and lets hope this wish comes true.

Published by

jammie

people who know me...know me.

14 thoughts on “Things I wish for.”

  1. Beautifully written!
    Amen to all you have wished for.
    I like to be optimistic too, moreso for my 2 yr old daughter’s sake but is it just me or is the world really becoming a terrible place day by day? I guess we need to remember as Moms that we need to do great jobs with our kids so that as they grow up they can do their part(s) to make this world a better place to live in.

  2. Beautifully written!
    Amen to all you have wished for.
    I like to be optimistic too, moreso for my 2 yr old daughter’s sake but is it just me or is the world really becoming a terrible place day by day? I guess we need to remember as Moms that we need to do great jobs with our kids so that as they grow up they can do their part(s) to make this world a better place to live in.

  3. *Aameen*
    .. inshalla hope whatever u’ve wished for Nadi comes true.
    what happened in mumbai was awful.. i still cant believe it. nobody is safe anymore, no place is safe.. there is so muc insecurity.
    i guess its only prayers and hopes like these that will get us all through. i am just so sad right now.

  4. A big Aameen to all your wishes for Nadi
    I’ve been reading your blog for more than 2 years now and out of all your writings I find this to be the most touching…
    May all your wishes and prayers for your lil prince come true and he does he family proud

  5. thanks guys – i dont think geographical location matters anywmore where terrorism is concerned atleats on our side of the world right now- we can only hope pray and stay strong in the knwoledge that we are living as best as we can. Keep praying you guys.

  6. hahaha on the sindhi and urdu speaking 🙂
    my husbands part sindhi and im urdu speaking- although in this day and age what different that makes im not sure i understand – except create a lot of confusioN!! 🙂 thanks for your duas.

  7. not confusion jammie…trouble. I want to give up on tagging people for their sectarian/ethnic identity…it might have made ‘sense’ at some stage of my life but now I want people to literally forget where they are coming from for a while…we are not mature enough to handle it.
    Let some sanity emerge before we start speaking about ethnicity in Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

