Happy Birthday Blog. You have been nominated.

(click on the icon)

Inicidentally this blog of mine is exactly 5 years old this February. I remember being newly engaged and patrolling the net trying to find something to read that would echo my my new found happy status or trigger something for the experiences ahead and then being inspired by the few that I found, I decided I needed to do this too. Map my journey, think out loud, speak into cyber space – call it what you want.

Its been a great 5 years- give or take the occasional troll or cynic or pooper who comes to smear mud all over any kind of thought I may have- whether positive or negative. They simply do not get the point of personal blogs. Especially in a world like today where the need to see the normalities that exist n a troubled country become greater for other cultures to be able to treat them withΒ toleranceΒ and understanding. I feel so good when Indian bloggers write in saying they know exactly what I mean, or when my foreign blog friends write in saying how though they read about the bomb that went off yesterday they also read about the awesome book that launched in my brave city the same weekend. In my own little way, I am putting out a positive spin on Pakistan because I know the way I see it is one they can too.

Time and again I have had to explain why I need to write to be read- that putting the words or the situation out there make me feel like I am putting it out to be addressed, tackled, disagreed with, resolved and perhaps accepted also. Writing for yourself doesnt allow that kind of growth, that comes with having to face the words.

So to celebrate this small project of mine, I am asking you all to please go onto http://blogawards.pk/?s=leaving1302 and click on the little star to vote for me and rate the blog and if you have an extra minute, please write in a comment too. Why do you come back to my blog? Has anything in your perception changed from anything I have said? I know my perception has. I know my minds grown broader- I allow more, react less- mostly. πŸ™‚

Published by

jammie

people who know me...know me.

15 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Blog. You have been nominated.”

  1. I come back to your blog cause you are one of the very few people who can be opinionated without sounding totally condescending. Your blog voice is so clear & focused & yet doesn’t get me on defensive if I disagree.
    Plus ofcourse, I love reading persona blogs – gives me a welcome break from news.

    1. ibtedaa its been a while since you delurked! good to know youre still around and i try not to sound opinionated but there are just so many opinions itching to be shared heh πŸ™‚ thanks !

      1. Ofcourse I’m here. πŸ™‚
        I just realized I’ve been reading your blogs for more than 5 years. I started reading you after K did a series on her blog during your wedding. But I went back and read all your archives even then.
        This once I saw your dad in Geo Karachi office & jotted down a note for K thanking her for sharing all she does on her blog & also for linking your your blog & Khizzy’s.
        But then I felt like a nerd & didnt give the note after all. πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ™‚ have never done this foe the sake of the prize and wont start now. having that said. tumharay munh meon ghee shakkar!

  2. Hey there,
    Had it not been for blogawards showcase, I would have been missing out on all the interesting posts you have here! I am most impressed and happy to have found your blog. Keep up the good work, your writing is very close to my heart…well atleast your last post! I gotta catch up on all those five years of your writing.

    Pleased to have found this new website I can keep coming back to.

    Warm regards
    Shaista

  3. Voted! Ive read your blog on and off and absolutely loved it. Its refreshing, honest, alive . A glimpse of your blog can brighten up someone’s day. Seriously πŸ™‚

  4. congrats!

    Have a small request – I am trying to interview some women from Pakistan who blog. Would you be game for it? All confidential and anonymous…

    let me know – could you please drop me a line at nehavish[at]gmail[dot]com

  5. tried posting this on blogawards a couple of times no luck
    sara tells our stories and speaks our language…taking me to places I was yet to visit even in my dreams and once I was ready to cross those bridges her blog was there to hold my hand and guide me as I took that leap of faith.
    my anti spam word was eye no u, prolly whats next And i vant to make frensheep with u!!

Leave a Reply

