i love you, z

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am in a thousand winds that blow,
I am the softly falling snow.
I am the gentle showers of rain,
I am the fields of ripening grain.
I am in the morning hush,
I am in the graceful rush
Of beautiful birds in circling flight,
I am the starshine of the night.
I am in the flowers that bloom,
I am in a quiet room.
I am in the birds that sing,
I am in each lovely thing.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there. I did not die.

Mary Elizabeth Frye

Published by

jammie

people who know me...know me.

15 thoughts on “i love you, z”

  1. I remember coming across this poem a long time ago, and I remember being very saddened by it. But reading it here, posted by you, it makes me think of strength and integrity and beauty. All the things you are, Sara.

    Just visited your blog to see how you were doing. Wish I could hug you in person.

  2. Those words are our deen through and through . Perhaps you’ve read the Tao te ching?Its profound yet simple wisdom mesmerised many . The Tao that can be named is not the eternal Tao.Lao tzu.Am so glad for the wisdom and inner peace you’re attracting. Mash’Allah.

  3. i wish i had something profound and comforting to say here but i’m going to squeeze your hand (virtually) and keep your little family in my prayers.

  4. I came to your website because I was thinking about your daughters today and I saw this poem. It captures exactly what a mother can pray for her child. Little Zoya will be your ticket to Jannah inshaAllah and you guys will have so much fun together there! πŸ™‚

    When I was writing my latest blog post about mothers and mothering, I thought of you. You are one of the most ass-kicking moms I know…

    Read it if you ever get time and know that you are, in my book, one of those mom tigers!

    http://halfyourfaith.com/archives/356

      1. Only when you are feeling blah and only if it helps….Or if you want to scare the husband…but whatever, thats optional. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment