tune in, tune out.

I think one of the hardest things to do is compartmentalize existences-  and for that you have to come to the conclusion that what is happening in one segment of life does not and should not necessarily touch the other. It is in these days and hours- recent happenings in mind- also one of the best things to do in order to remain on the sanity track.

Back in the day when I felt all activist-y in who I was and had a whole lot of very loud opinions, I used to feel the compartmentalizing was a bit of a sign of weakness. That people who separated existences were ones who could not deal with the whole package. They could only deal with one truth or reality at  time and they did so to make life easier. Yes of course I was heady and judgmental and deemed myself above needing to do the same because I had what I imagined was energy and intelligence and education and I was willing to make use of each faculty to be involved and aware all the time.

I grew up somewhat- we all do eventually if we are lucky to be surrounded by friends and family who simply refuse to take your angst seriously and  laugh you out of your adolescent fire,  and a lot of the ideas evolved to include more versatile views of living  and life. Recently more so than ever, I have been revisiting my older views on compartmentalizing and realizing if it were not for this marvel of human existence, things could get very bleak indeed.

Last night as news of Osama’s capture splashed across Twitter, TV and the news, I was hooked. I wanted to know in real time everything that was happening and I was flipping through channels to see which one was more up to date on the unfolding drama.  I had the remote in one hand, my phone in another and I kept moving from one to the other, to stay tuned. It was pure drama at its best, especially as the local parties got on board the chaos express to avenge the killing of their person just as K called on the phone plotting out his route home . About 25 minutes into the multi-gadget news inhalation, I heard Nadi re-enter the room after playing outside and Lilly start snuffling in her cot, a sure fire sign that full fledged wakeup call was mere minutes away. Barely inside, Nadi started his monologuish account of Alex the Lion and his preference for steaks (or some such similar narrative) and in absolute sync to her brother’s arrival, Lilly let out a series of yabble babbles. And as I got up to fetch Lilly from the crib, one ear tuned to the Nadi speak, I could already feel myself switch off from the other world, where helicopters continued to fall and conspiracy theories kept hatching and tune into my world where there is chaos for sure, but of a happier, funner kind. And when the tingly, peaceful everything-I-need is-right-here feeling starts creeping up your back, you know that you have finally learnt how to compartmentalize your life in the way that suits you most, and best in order to survive the reality and truth of this mad, mad, mad, mad, mad, mad, mad, mad world.

Published by

jammie

people who know me...know me.

8 thoughts on “tune in, tune out.”

  1. it’s crazy how you and i often have the same realizations together. two days before the whole osama madness – i.e., saturday, we found out that the our watchman’d been missing and was found dead at the back of apartment building. this is a man i see, smile at and talk to every day! it was heartbreaking to say in the least! but then the kids and the kidcare got in the way of my obsessing about it, and i realized this is also such a blessing, isn’t it? this being able to make neat little boxes to put everything away in to?

    1. haan it is. also a little startling to realize how little the biggest of things can be in this little microcosm. I mean yes its a good thing but its also a ohmygod moment at realizing the power of the shut off 😀

  2. So glad to hear that your method works for you. I guess I have that to look forward to someday! I came back from work yesterday annoyed and angry at the comments I’d heard and spent my entire evening trying to get out of my funk.

Leave a Reply

